Beat square and cool
Beat, Square and Cool bookletBeat square and cool pdf

Beat, Square & Cool (Jazz on Film Vol.2) box set digital download & exclusive 60-pg e-booklet


Includes exclusive 60 pg e-booklet only available here

Categories: ,

Product Description

High Quality MP3 Digital Download of complete 5-CD Box Set

A set of 8 of the greatest jazz film scores ever made.

  •  The Wild One (Leith Stevens/Shorty Rogers)
  • Crime in the Streets (Franz Waxman)
  • I Want to Live (Johnny Mandel)
  • Les Tricheurs (Norman Granz’ JATP)
  • Paris Blues (Duke Ellington)
  • The Subterraneans (André Previn)
  • Shadows (Charles Mingus)
  • The Connection (Freddie Redd)

Includes a 60-page colour booklet in electronic format with in-depth sleeve notes by the leading UK ‘Jazz on film’ feature writer Selwyn Harris. Foreword written by Jazzwise Magazine editor Jon Newey.

In the media

“These collections are unprecedented in presentation and sound quality,” – The Observer, Nov 2012 *****


“Last-minute gift shoppers might alight on this five-CD box, full of goodies for jazz buffs who like their film noir…Job done.” – Evening Standard, (Jazz CD of the Week) Dec 2012 ****


“Packaged like its predecessor, in an elegant library box with a very informative and readable 60-page accompanying book. That’s Christmas sorted.” – Jazz UK, Dec/Jan 2013


“The current proliferation of DIY movie making, music making and recording will doubtless generate further new departures for jazz on film worldwide. This set of veritably classic precedents will prove an enduring inspiration for such developments,” – Michael Horovitz (Jazzwise), Dec/Jan 2013 ****


“A labour-of-love five disc set,” – The Independent on Sunday (Jazz CD of the Week) ****


“The second, stylishly presented, volume… arguably, packed with more treasures than the first…a glittering cast of the creme de la creme of jazz.” – Scotland on Sunday (Jazz CD of the Week) *****
“All a good box set should be: music you are unlikely to have in your collection – or even have heard before, nicely packaged, with full information, striking pictures and great liner notes, excellently remastered, and all at a reasonable price.” – Birmingham Post/Jazz Breakfast (Jazz CD of the Week)